St. Louis Sexual Abuse Defense Attorneys

What Is Sexual Abuse?

Crimes of sexual abuse involve unlawful touching against the alleged victim’s consent. More specifically, Missouri law recognizes the following types of sexual abuse:

  • Mo. Rev. Stat. § § 566.100 (Sexual Abuse in the First Degree) – subjecting a person to sexual contact (touching genitals, anus, or breasts directly or through clothes for sexual arousal) when the person is incapacitated, cannot consent, or by force
  • Mo. Rev. Stat. § § 566.101 (Sexual Abuse in the Second Degree) – subjecting a person to sexual contact without that person's consent

Penalties and Sentencing

Acts of sexual abuse are punished as felonies or misdemeanors, depending on the severity of the offense and the alleged victim’s age. In general, first degree sexual abuse is charged as a Class C felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. However, if the first degree sexual abuse involved serious physical injury, use of a deadly weapon, or an alleged victim that is younger than 14 years old, the offense rises to the Class B felony level, which is punishable by 5-15 years in prison.

Second degree sexual abuse is punished as a Class A misdemeanor in most cases, which carries 1 year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. If the defendant charged with second degree sexual abuse has prior offenses, of if the offense involved the use of a deadly weapon or was committed as part of a ceremony or ritual, they could face Class D felony charges. A Class D felony is punishable by up to 4 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.

Defend Against Your Charges with Miller & Hine

A conviction for sexual abuse could have lasting consequences that follow you through your future. In addition to the fines and prison time, you will likely also be required to register as a sex offender for several years to life. However, our firm is experienced in the courtroom and takes an aggressive approach to protecting our clients’ rights and reputation. We understand the stakes of a sexual abuse charge, so we will do our best to fight for dropped or dismissed charges. Whether you face first degree or second degree sexual abuse charges, we will do whatever it takes – from negotiation to trial – to fight for your defense.

Schedule a free initial consultation with Miller & Hine online or at (314) 597-9763 to learn more.

What Makes Our Attorneys Stand Out From the Rest?

  1. Nearly 50 Years of Combined Experience
  2. Available 24/7 & Provide Free Consultations
  3. We Treat Every Client Like They are Family
  4. We Have an In-Depth Understanding of Missouri Criminal Statutes
  5. We Take a Team Approach to Each Case

Contact Us Today

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
Available 24/7 Call 314-597-9763 Today