If you were recently injured and are considering your legal options for handling your insurance claim or filing a personal injury lawsuit against the person that caused your injuries, our team at Miller & Hine can help. Some of the personal injury cases our firm can handle include (but are not limited to):
- Auto Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Wrongful Death
- Products Liability & Defective Products
- Premises Liability
- Other Personal Injuries
Whether it is a complex case involving side effects or an insurance claim related to catastrophic injuries caused by a car accident, we are confident in our ability to provide the legal counsel you need. With over 48 years of combined experience, we have a deep understanding of Missouri law and can offer you the informed guidance you need to take legal action.
Schedule a free initial consultation at (314) 597-9763 or online to learn more.
Statute of Limitations in Missouri
Every state has a statute of limitations that determines how long a plaintiff has to file a court case following an injury. Failing to do so within the time period could result in a court denying to hear the case and thus the plaintiff losing their opportunity at compensation.
In Missouri, the specific statute of limitations for bringing a personal injury claim to court is 5 years. This means that if the plaintiff does not file the civil lawsuit within 5 years from the date of the incident, the court will almost certainly refuse to hear the case. Note that claims that involve a government agency or employee have a shorter statute of limitations of 90 days.
Comparative (Shared) Fault and Damages
Missouri personal injury claims follow a shared fault, or comparative fault, rule. This establishes that an injured plaintiff who is partly at fault for the incident may have their compensation reduced by an amount equal to their percentage of fault. For example, if a person is 10% at fault for the underlying incident that warrants total damages of $10,000, the plaintiff will receive $9,000 – their total damages are reduced by 10%, or $1,000.
Some states set limits or “cap” damages a plaintiff may receive in personal injury cases. Missouri, however, does not have any damage caps in place for such lawsuits, so an individual is entitled to any reasonable amount of non-economic (“pain and suffering”) damages and economic damages as determined by their case.
Call (314) 597-9763 to Claim Your Compensation Today
A personal injury attorney from Miller & Hine is an essential step for seeking the greatest opportunity at an advantageous case outcome. Our attorneys understand exactly how to approach each case in order to negotiate the highest amount of compensation. We will provide you with one-on-one, compassionate service and the attention you need. We take the time to understand what our clients are going through and will be sure to answer your questions and address your needs as we handle your case, whether it is a car accident claim, wrongful death, or premise liability.
Know that you will receive aggressive and educated representation that will make all the difference in the outcome of your case. Whether we are able to recover the compensation you deserve through a negotiated settlement or by taking your case to a jury trial, we will do our best to protect your right to compensation.
If you or someone close to you has been injured, please call us at (314) 597-9763 or contact us online to discuss the details of your incident and what we can do to help.
- Nearly 50 Years of Combined Experience
- Available 24/7 & Provide Free Consultations
- We Treat Every Client Like They are Family
- We Have an In-Depth Understanding of Missouri Criminal Statutes
- We Take a Team Approach to Each Case